

reducing carbon emissions & fuel poverty

## **South West CAN Executive General Meeting Minutes**

SW CAN Members Forum 28<sup>th</sup> February 2013
Somerset County Cricket Club, The County Ground, Taunton, Somerset TA1 1JT

## Election of new Chair and Vice Chair

Emma Quest stepped down as South West Carbon Action Network Chair due to shortly going on maternity leave. A handout with a biography of each candidate was made available to full SW CAN members. The vote was open to full SW CAN members only. Neil Short and Charles Garrett were nominated by Keith Williams prior to the Extraordinary General Meeting, and were seconded at the EGM by Andy Eisenhauer. Ian Higgins proposed Neil Short as Chair and Charles Garrett as Vice Chair. Neil Short was voted in unanimously as the new Chair of SW CAN and Charles Garrett was voted in unanimously as the new SW CAN Vice Chair.

## Changes to the constitution

Emma Quest, acting Chair of SW CAN, recommended changes to the constitution which had been discussed at previous SW CAN Executive meetings:

**3a. Original:** Individuals directly employed by south west local authorities with responsibilities that include carbon reduction and/or fuel poverty.

It was agreed by all for this definition of full membership to be left as it is to include higher tier authorities.

**4d. Original:** The co-ordination of Network activities shall be carried out by the Executive Committee in conjunction with the Secretariat. The Executive Committee consists of eight officers, the Chair plus one from each county: Cornwall, Devon, Plymouth, Torbay, Somerset, Dorset, Wiltshire, Gloucestershire and Bristol. The Officers will include a Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary and Treasurer.

**Proposed change:** The co-ordination of Network activities shall be carried out by the Executive Committee in conjunction with the Secretariat.

**6a. Original:** The Executive Committee will consist of 7 Committee Members. Each Committee Member will represent her/his county. All Committee Members will be subject to re-election at the AGM. No Committee places will be occupied by Associate Members.

**Proposed change:** The Executive Committee will consist of a small group of local authority employees. Each committee member may represent her/his authority and/or partnership authorities within their county or surrounding area. All Committee members, with the exception of the Chair, Vice Chair, Secretariat and Treasurer, will be self selected, subject to agreement with existing executive committee. Committee places will not be occupied by more than one member from the same authority and no Committee places will be occupied by Associate Members, with the exception of the Secretariat.

These changes were agreed by full SW CAN members.

Emma Quest also proposed that the previous SW CAN Chair, Colin Anderson, become a presidential member of SW CAN for his previous contribution to the network. This was agreed unanimously.

Emma Quest raised the subject of associate members being charged a membership fee, inline with previous changes to the constitution.

## SW CAN forum

The forum then continued in the standard format with presentations from the following:

Birmingham Energy Savers, Roy Wallington, Relationship Director, Carillion Plc

An overview of how the Green Deal is progressing in Birmingham

Partner update, Bethany Redley, NEA

Green Deal and ECO assessments software, Ben Smith, InstaGroup

Providing an overview of InstaGroup's new software for Green Deal and ECO assessments

View from...Poole, Paul Cooling, Carbon Reduction Manager, Borough of Poole

Paul will provide an outline of the Council's activities in Poole

HECA reporting in Devon, Tony Norton, Head of the Centre for Energy and the Environment, University of Exeter

Sharing lessons learnt from preparing HECA reports across Devon